Hiking Research

Dad and Jack Sandwich Mtn

Going through old photo albums and scanning them. Came across an old picture of my dad and my dog Jack. On the summit of Sandwich Mountain in New Hampshire. My dad was standing on top of a cairn. I remember the hike because I was thinking, “Why would we bother to hike this? It’s not a 4000 Footer.” I can’t pin down from my notes when we climbed it. Probably 1984 or 1985. I seem to remember the trail needed to be brushed out.

It’s one of the few photos I have of that era where my dad and I hiked all 48 of those 4000 Footers in the White Mountains.

SONY DSC

I wasn’t 100% sure it was Sandwich Dome. I could barely read the scribbling on the back of the photo in my yellowed old album. So I went and searched for the summit of Sandwich on the internet. There was the crumbled remnants of the cairn. The recognizable  rock of the ledges underneath. The taller trees. Picture taken 30 years later.

I’m still amazed by the internet.

About Eric Chandler

Husband. Father. Pilot. Cross Country Skier. Writer. Author of Outside Duluth and Down In It.
This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

