The Fun Dome (#57): High Flying Hikes: Part Deux

If you missed yesterday’s episode, catch up here. Now we begin with the phase I’ll call the College Boy Era. This is time of my life where I hike and scare away a few different women. They either left because of the hiking or because of me. I’ll blame hiking.

I left home for Colorado and college. (I was actually institutionalized–not college.) Thus begins the next part of my OCD-fueled list. You’ll note the hiking doesn’t start in earnest until I was allowed to own a car. Or in my case a 1986 GMC S-15 pickup.

Mt. Shavano. Colorado. 1987? With my girlfriend at the time. Speculated about high altitude sexual performance. Then some other hikers showed up. Darn.

Mt. Yale. Colorado. Nov 87. All in a single day from Colorado Springs to the summit and back. Dark when we left and dark when we finished. John DeLapp and me. 

Just below the summit of Mt. Yale.

Just below the summit of Mt. Yale.

Little Round Top. California. 3 July 1988. Up into the Sierras near Tahoe when I was working for NASA one summer. (Don’t laugh. I’m smart enough to work for NASA.) I went up solo. Found a warm slab of rock to lay out my sleeping bag on and slept under the stars.

Looking west from Little Round Top. Until I used Google, I wasn't completely sure this was the right hill.

Looking west from Little Round Top. Until I used Google, I wasn’t completely sure this was the right hill.

Half Dome. 13 Jul 88. Up into the national park with a girl and her brother. Bears got into our heavy packs when we took day packs up Half Dome. Trip cut short because bears ate all of our rations. Heard coyotes in the middle of the night. Still wonder about Yosemite. Stopped wondering about the girl eastbound in Nevada.

I also remember that there were chipmunks on the summit. They were accustomed to being fed by humans and very aggressive. Let me say, there is nothing creepier than watching a chipmunk tugging on the zippers of your daypack with his forepaws, trying to get at the snacks inside. Creepy.

Half Dome 1988

Half Dome Hero Shots.

Half Dome Hero Shots.

Mt. Sneffels. Ouray, CO. 3 Sep 88. Jon Wiesinger, cross-country ski teammate and I drive west and climb the most exposed, non-technical climb I did up to that point. Awesome hike. Partied in Telluride after. I’ll never forget we were shooting pool in a bar that night. There was a guy shooting 8-ball with a kid in a child carrier on his back. He was lining up his shot and it looked like the kid on his back was lining up the shot too. Good times. Cooked ramen noodles on the tailgate of my truck for supper while looking up at the hills. This makes the 3rd Fourteener I’ve done after Shavano and Yale. Haven’t been above 14,000 since. That’s depressing. I don’t even know me anymore.

Yankee Boy Basin from summit of Sneffels. Almost creamed by a basketball sized boulder on the way up the scree field earlier.

Yankee Boy Basin from summit of Sneffels. Almost creamed by a basketball sized boulder on the way up the scree field earlier.

Join us for the next episode where I scare away women with hiking in Alaska and Korea!

About Eric Chandler

Husband. Father. Pilot. Cross Country Skier. Writer. Author of Outside Duluth and Down In It.
This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Fun Dome (#57): High Flying Hikes: Part Deux

  1. Pingback: The Fun Dome (#58): High Flying Hikes III | SHMOTOWN

Leave a Reply

