I Won’t Remember

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I won’t remember this

late spring pre-dawn run.

Record snows melting in the ditches.

The deer tracks in the snow.

The harsh call of a red-winged blackbird.

The flight of two honking Canada geese.

The familiar awakening of my limbs as I pass two miles.

I walk across the surface of an untracked field of snow

and the entire slab settles with a whoomp.

There’s nothing remarkable about the full moon

as it sets to make room for the rising sun.

So, I won’t remember this morning in North Dakota.

It’s likely that,

at some point,

I won’t remember anything at all.

— Eric Chandler

(This poem first appeared in Aqueous Magazine in December 2013)

About Eric Chandler

Husband. Father. Pilot. Cross Country Skier. Writer. Author of Outside Duluth and Down In It.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Won’t Remember

  1. andreahsite says:

    I love this so much

Leave a Reply

