Dear Cross Country Skier,

p22102741.jpg

Dear Cross-Country Skier,

This is not my idea. It’s a darn good one though, so I stole it from Scott Kylander-Johnson. Shelley and I just donated $1000 to the Duluth Cross Country Ski Club (DXC) Capital Campaign.

I might be the last guy you should listen to. I ran a marathon and raised money for the Lance Armstrong Foundation. Then they had a doping scandal. I ran the Superior Hiking Trail in 41 sections over a 5-month period to raise money for the Wounded Warrior Project. Then their leadership got fired for throwing million-dollar parties. So, I’m a little sour on national-level charities right now.

That’s why giving locally is great. We’ll see the result of our gift. We’ll sit and warm up in the Lester-Amity Chalet. We’ll ski at the Grand Avenue Nordic Center (no matter what) because of the manmade snow. I’ve been skiing since I could walk. My kids have, too. We love this sport. We have the luxury of being able to do something tangible for cross-country skiing. So, we did.

Shelley and I have lived in Utah, Alaska, Korea, New Hampshire, California, Arizona, Colorado, and Washington, D.C. We’ve been around the block. We’ve never lived in a better place than Duluth, Minnesota. We don’t exaggerate when we use this word about this city: Love. This gift is our way of showing it in a meaningful way.

I’m going to put on my fancy pants now so I can quote a French writer and philosopher named Voltaire. He wrote a book called Candide. In the very last line of the book, the main character sums up his philosophy of life by saying, “We must cultivate our garden.” I recently read something by Adam Gopnik that explains that line: “The force of that last great injunction, “We must cultivate our garden,” is that our responsibility is local, and concentrated on immediate action.”

Local. Immediate action. That sings to me, especially when I accidentally watch the national news.

Please consider the DXC Capital Campaign as part of your charitable donation plan. You’ll be able to ski on the results.

Eric and Shelley Chandler

For details on how to donate, click here.

About Eric Chandler

Husband. Father. Pilot. Cross Country Skier. Writer. Author of Outside Duluth and Down In It.
This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dear Cross Country Skier,

  1. Pingback: Shmo’s 2016 Writing Review | SHMOTOWN

  2. Louise Levy says:

    Hi, Eric, nice piece. Sincerely, Louise

Leave a Reply

